Author Topic: EuroInternational to use Mercedes engines for European F3  (Read 2587 times)

Offline fasteddy

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6394
EuroInternational to use Mercedes engines for European F3
« on: March 05, 2013, 08:35:14 AM »
Italian team EuroInternational has switched from Volkswagen to Mercedes engines for this season's Formula 3 European Championship.

The squad stepped up to FIA-rules F3 for last year's Macau Grand Prix with Anglo-Swede Tom Blomqvist driving a Dallara-Volkswagen.

But now, despite strong testing performances with VW power for Blomqvist at Barcelona and Valencia, team principal Antonio Ferrari confirmed to AUTOSPORT that the switch has been made to Mercedes powerplants.

Blomqvist, who is now a Red Bull junior driver, will be the team's only representative in this week's official European F3 test at Barcelona, which takes place on Friday and Saturday.

Ferrari added that EuroInternational will definitely run two cars in the series this season, but that the driver for his second Dallara may not be decided until the eve of the opening round at Monza on March 22-24.

The team will also run two cars in the German F3 Cup for older-spec machines. South African Aston Hare and Petronas-backed Malaysian Nabil Jeffri, first and second respectively in last year's JK Racing Asia Series with EuroInternational, will be the drivers.

2013 European F3 Championship line-up so far:

Team               Car             Drivers
Prema Powerteam    Dallara-Merc    Lynn/Auer/Marciello/Cheever
Mucke              Dallara-Merc    Gilbert/Nissany/Wehrlein/Rosenqvist
Carlin             Dallara-VW      Mardenborough/King/Tincknell/Latifi
Ma-con Motorsport  Dallara-VW      Andre Rudersdorf/Sven Muller
URD Rennsport      Dallara-Merc    TBA
Fortec Motorsport  Dallara-Merc    Serralles/Derani/Hill/Suranovich
Van Amersfoort     Dallara-VW      Dennis van de Laar/Mans Grenhagen/TBA
EuroInternational  Dallara-VW      Tom Blomqvist/TBA
T-Sport            Dallara-Nissan  Spike Goddard/Will Buller
Double R Racing    Dallara-Merc    Giovinazzi/Gelael/Calderon
Romeo Ferraris     Dallara-Merc    Michela Cerruti/TBA