Author Topic: Jack Harvey scores maiden British Formula 3 win at the Nurburgring  (Read 2794 times)

Offline fasteddy

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6394
Jack Harvey claimed his maiden British Formula 3 win from this morning's reversed grid race at the Nurburgring.

The 2010 Formula BMW Europe runner-up made a lightning start from the front row of the grid and outdragged poleman Rupert Svendsen-Cook on the run down to the first turn.

The race was neutralised at the end of the opening lap, when Fortec's Fahmi Ilyas spun on the approach to the Ford-Kurve and took out Hitech's Pietro Fantin.

Harvey controlled the lap four restart well, backing the pack up at the final corner before bolting down the start-finish straight.

He pulled steadily away from Svendsen-Cook over the remaining six laps to win by 2.8 seconds.

"I came into this weekend feeling quite good," said Harvey, who also took the two bonus points on offer for fastest lap. "We know the start of the season hasn't gone how we hoped, but the team has been working hard, I've been working hard and I have to say thank you to all the people who've been supporting me behind the scenes, because without their hard work this wouldn't have been possible."

A storming start by Hitech's Pedro Nunes took him from 10th on the grid to fifth and he claimed the final podium place when Fortec's Will Buller ran off the road at Turn 3 after the restart, while battling with Antonio Felix da Costa (Hitech).

Championship leader Felipe Nasr (Carlin) shadowed his fellow Brazilian Nunes to the flag having made fine progress from seventh on the grid, while Nasr's team-mates Jazeman Jaafar and Kevin Magnussen rounded out the top six.

Da Costa recovered from his incident with Buller (which put the Northern Irishman out with a left rear puncture) to claim seventh.

He finished clear of Fortec's Harry Tincknell, who ran sixth early on, but lost out to Nasr, Jaafar and Magnussen following the safety car period.

Double R team-mates Pipo Derani and Scott Pye ran in formation at the tail end of the top 10 to take the final points paying positions.

Results - 10 laps:

Pos  Driver                  Team/Car                    Time/Gap
 1.  Jack Harvey             Carlin Dallara-VW         21m18.954s
 2.  Rupert Svendsen-Cook    Carlin Dallara-VW           + 2.800s
 3.  Pedro Nunes             Hitech Dallara-VW           + 6.910s
 4.  Felipe Nasr             Carlin Dallara-VW           + 7.319s
 5.  Jazeman Jaafar          Carlin Dallara-VW          + 10.021s
 6.  Kevin Magnussen         Carlin Dallara-VW          + 10.820s
 7.  Antonio Felix da Costa  Hitech Dallara-VW          + 11.443s
 8.  Harry Tincknell         Fortec Dallara-Merc        + 14.181s
 9.  Pipo Derani             Double R Dallara-Merc      + 16.009s
10.  Scott Pye               Double R Dallara-Merc      + 16.439s
11.  Lucas Foresti           Fortec Dallara-Merc        + 18.234s
12.  Adderly Fong            Sino Vision Dallara-Merc   + 20.710s
13.  Hywel Lloyd             Sino Vision Dallara-Merc   + 21.499s
14.  Yann Cunha              T-Sport Dallara-VW         + 25.381s
15.  Bart Hylkema            T-Sport Dallara-Mugen      + 30.812s
16.  Kotaro Sakurai          Hitech Dallara-Mugen       + 39.872s


     Menasheh Idafar         T-Sport Dallara-VW            4 laps
     Carlos Huertas          Carlin Dallara-VW             4 laps
     William Buller          Fortec Dallara-Merc           4 laps
     Pietro Fantin           Hitech Dallara-VW             0 laps
     Fahmi Ilyas             Fortec Dallara-Merc           0 laps