Author Topic: Kimaya Sato scores maiden win  (Read 2785 times)

Offline fasteddy

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6394
Kimaya Sato scores maiden win
« on: May 14, 2011, 10:42:02 AM »
By Jamie O'Leary    Saturday, May 14th 2011, 15:30 GMT

Kimiya Sato Motopark F3 Euro Series 2011 Zandvoort

Kimiya Sato broke his F3 Euro Series duck with a lights-to-flag victory in the reversed grid race at Zandvoort.

The Japanese driver started from pole position, alongside his Motopark team-mate Gianmarco Raimondo, and was never headed.

The key moment of the race came at the start. From fourth, Daniel Juncadella made a rocket getaway to draw alongside both Sato and Raimondo as the trio approached the braking zone for Tarzan.

Juncadella's attempt to drive around the outside of both failed, however, as Raimondo outbraked himself and pushed both his own car and that of the Prema driver wide.

Carlos Munoz gleefully nipped into the gap that appeared to secure second, but he was soon given a drive-through penalty for lining up incorrectly on the grid.

That left Sato in the clear, and he went on to head home Raimondo in what was Motopark's first one-two finish in the Euro Series.

Behind them, Felix Rosenqvist completed the podium, benefitting when his Mucke team-mate Nigel Melker was given a drive-through early on for a jumped start.

Roberto Merhi finished fourth to increase his championship lead to 27 points while Laurens Vanthoor was the best Signature driver in fifth, ahead of Marco Wittmann, Juncadella and Daniel Abt (Signature).

Result - 13 laps

Pos  Driver              Team/Car                  Time/Gap
 1. Kimiya Sato         Motorpark Dallara-VW     20m07.409s
 2. Gianmarco Raimondo  Motorpark Dallara-VW       + 0.976s
 3. Felix Rosenqvist    Mucke Dallara-Merc         + 1.441s
 4. Roberto Merhi       Prema Dallara-Merc         + 2.061s
 5. Laurens Vanthoor    Signature Dallara-VW       + 3.310s
 6. Marco Wittmann      Signature Dallara-VW       + 3.721s
 7. Daniel Juncadella   Prema Dallara-Merc         + 4.501s
 8  Daniel Abt          Signature Dallara-VW       + 6.572s
 9. Jimmy Eriksson      Motopark Dallara-VW        + 8.890s
10  Kuba Giermaziak     Star Dallara-VW           + 14.812s
11. Nigel Melker        Mucke Dallara-Merc        + 16.292s
12. Carlos Munoz        Signature Dallara-VW      + 33.980s