Author Topic: Magnussen claims maiden win  (Read 2833 times)

Offline fasteddy

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6394
Magnussen claims maiden win
« on: May 14, 2011, 10:41:16 AM »
By Ben Anderson    Saturday, May 14th 2011, 14:59 GMT

F3 Snetterton podiumKevin Magnussen produced two outstanding round-the-outside passes to claim his maiden British Formula 3 victory in this afternoon's first race at Snetterton.

The Dane made a slow start from second on the grid and dropped to third, behind a fast-starting Riki Christodoulou.

Magnussen (Carlin) then reclaimed the place at the start of the third lap by going round the outside of Christodoulou's Hitech-run Dallara into the ultra-fast double-apex turn one at Riches.

A mid-race safety car erased poleman Felipe Nasr's early advantage, before Magnussen repeated his earlier move at the re-start to take the lead.

From there he reeled off the last half-dozen laps to seal the win by just 0.616 seconds from Nasr.

"I had a pretty good race - not the best of starts, but I recovered well," Magnussen said. "Luckily we got the safety car and that was my chance to do Nasr. It's a big relief to finally get my first win after a tough start to the season."

Colombian Carlos Huertas claimed his second podium of the season when Christodoulou dropped back to sixth a couple of laps after losing second to Magnussen.

Rupert Svendsen-Cook completed a Carlin clean-sweep of the top four places, while Christodoulou eventually recovered to fifth by passing team-mate Pietro Fantin.

Double R's Pipo Derani ran fifth early on, but was given a drive-through penalty for being out of position at the start. He eventually came home 13th.

Category veteran Hywel Lloyd put in a strong run to take seventh for Sino Vision, ahead of Fortec trio Harry Tincknell, Will Buller and Lucas Foresti.

Results - 26 laps:

Pos  Driver                Team/Car                     Time/Gap
 1   Kevin Magnussen       Carlin Dallara-VW         30m54.041s
 2.  Felipe Nasr           Carlin Dallara-VW           + 0.616s
 3.  Carlos Huertas        Carlin Dallara-VW           + 3.373s
 4.  Rupert Svendsen-Cook  Carlin Dallara-VW           + 5.255s
 5.  Riki Christodoulou    Hitech Dallara-VW           + 8.051s
 6.  Pietro Fantin         Hitech Dallara-VW           + 8.542s
 7.  Hywel Lloyd           Sino Vision Dallara-Merc   + 11.238s
 8.  Harry Tincknell       Fortec Dallara-Merc        + 11.906s
 9.  William Buller        Fortec Dallara-Merc        + 12.016s
10.  Lucas Foresti         Fortec Dallara-Merc        + 13.427s
11.  Yann Cunha            T-Sport Dallara-VW         + 15.210s
12.  Adderly Fong          Sino Vision Dallara-Merc   + 19.791s
13.  Pipo Derani           Double R Dallara-Merc      + 23.081s
14.  Menasheh Idafar       T-Sport Dallara-VW         + 23.729s
15.  Jack Harvey           Carlin Dallara-VW          + 26.026s
16.  Jazeman Jaafar        Carlin Dallara-VW          + 26.952s
17.  Bart Hylkema          T-Sport Dallara-Mugen      + 28.744s
18.  Kotaro Sakurai        Hitech Dallara-Mugen       + 34.746s


     Scott Pye             Double R Dallara-Merc         6 laps
     Fahmi Ilyas           Fortec Dallara-Merc           4 laps